The Museum of Modern Art

11 West 53 Street, New York, N.Y. 10019 Tel. 956-6100 Cable: Modernart

NO. 126 FOR RELEASE: NOVEMBER 10, 1972

At a meeting of the Board of Trustees of The Museum of Modern Art, following the annual meeting of the Museum November 8, William S. Paley, who has been President of the Museum since 1968, was elected Chairman of the Board of Trustees, succeeding David Rockefeller, who had served as Chairman since 1962. Mr. Rockefeller, who asked that he not be considered for election to another term due to the pressures upon his time, was elected a Vice Chairman. Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, 3rd, a Trustee since 1952, was elected President to succeed Mr. Paley.

David Rockefeller has been a Trustee of the Museum since 1948 and a member of its Executive and Finance Committees since 1958. He will remain on the Executive Committee and will also serve on several other committees. In announcing November 8, election, Mr. Paley said: "David Rockefeller has rendered outstanding service to The Museum of Modern Art for nearly a quarter of a century. No one has had a deeper or more enthusiastic interest in its purposes or been more generous in its support. We are delighted that he will continue to be closely associated with the Museum's activities as Vice Chairman and a member of the Executive Committee. It is also a source of great encouragement to me and all my colleagues on the Board that Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, 3rd, who knows the Museum so intimately and has served it so effectively, will be the new President."

Other officers elected were Gardner Cowles and Dr. Henry Allen Moe as Vice Chairmen; J. Frederic Byers, III, Mrs. Bliss Parkinson and James Thrall Soby as Vice Presidents; Neal J. Farrell, Treasurer; Richard H. Koch, Secretary; and Mrs. Miriam G. Cedarbaum, Assistant Secretary.

Additional information available from Elizabeth Shaw, Director, Department of Public Information, The Museum of Modern Art, 11 W. 53 St., New York, NY 10019. Phone: (212) 956-7501, -7504.