## The Museum of Modern Art

For Immediate Release October 1990

## NEW PHOTOGRAPHY SERIES AT THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

The Museum of Modern Art's annual NEW PHOTOGRAPHY series was introduced in 1985 as a forum devoted to recent work of less familiar photographers of exceptional talent. John Szarkowski, director of the Department of Photography, wrote at the series' inception, "Each year NEW PHOTOGRAPHY will show three or four photographers whose work--individually and collectively--seems to represent the most interesting achievements of recent photography."

Continuing the Museum's longstanding commitment to showing contemporary work, the NEW PHOTOGRAPHY exhibitions have featured many artists who have come to the department's attention through weekly portfolio reviews; other photographers in the series had been previously represented in the Museum's collection. With the opening of NEW PHOTOGRAPHY 6, the series will have presented the work of nineteen photographers (see attached chronology).

In 1986, Springs Industries announced its support of the Museum's NEW PHOTOGRAPHY series for a four-year period. This year, Springs Industries renewed its commitment to the program as part of the Springs of Achievement Series on the Art of Photography at The Museum of Modern Art.

No. 105

For further information or photographic materials, contact the Department of Public Information, 212/708-9750.

## **NEW PHOTOGRAPHY**

## A chronology of the series

**NEW PHOTOGRAPHY (1985)** 

Zeke Berman Antonio Mendoza Judith Ross Michael Spano

NEW PHOTOGRAPHY 2 (1986)

Philip Lorca diCorcia Mary Frey David T. Hanson

NEW PHOTOGRAPHY 3 (1987)

Paul Graham Barbara Norfleet Thomas Roma NEW PHOTOGRAPHY 4 (1988)

Patrick Faigenbaum Reagan Louie Michael Schmidt

NEW PHOTOGRAPHY 5 (1989)

Vincent Borrelli Mike Mandel Thomas Florschuetz

NEW PHOTOGRAPHY 6 (1990)

Paul D'Amato Carl Pope JoAnn Verburg