E .> "

GALA BENEFIT PREMIERE OF CLINT EASTWOOD'S "FIREFOX" WILL LAUNCH \$6,000,000 MOMA FILM PRESERVATION DRIVE

FIREFOX, starring, produced and directed by Clint Eastwood, will have a gala premiere on June 14, 1982, to benefit the Film Preservation Fund of The Museum of Modern Art. The benefit is the first to be organized in support of film preservation, and serves to launch MoMA's campaign to raise a total of \$6,000,000 to complete the preservation of its Archive of over 8,000 films.

FIREFOX, a film of high adventure and international intrigue, will premiere at the Cinema I theater, and a black-tie supper will follow at the Hotel Pierre, with dancing to the music of Peter Duchin and his orchestra. Mr. Eastwood will attend.

Plans for the gala benefit were unveiled at a cocktail party for the Benefit Committee held in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Ronald Lauder. The announcement was made by Mrs. Deane Johnson, Chairman of the Committee with, as Honorary Co-Chairmen, Mrs. Armand P. Bartos; Mr. William S. Paley, Chairman of the Museum's Board of Trustees; Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd, President of the Museum; and Mr. Steven J. Ross, Chairman of Warner Communications, Inc.

Also in attendance to lend their support to the preservation endeavour were Lillian Gish, an Honorary Committee member and a major donor to the Museum's Archive; and Joe Hyams, a Vice-President of Warner Bros., FIREFOX's distributor.

The FIREFOX benefit represents the first time that The Museum of Modern Art, a film company, Warner Bros., and a filmmaker have joined together to raise funds for film preservation. It was at Mr. Eastwood's personal request that FIREFOX's New York premiere benefit the Museum's Film Archive. During a visit to MoMA for a special program of his films in 1980, Mr. Eastwood became interested in the

HONORARY CO-CHAIRMEN Mrs. Armand P. Bartos Mr. William S. Paley Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd Mr. Steven J. Ross

BENEFIT CHAIRMAN Mrs. Deane F. Johnson

Benefit Office 1120 Avenue of the Americas Suite 1410 New York, New York 10036 212 944-1858



FIREFOX Benefit page two

preservation program conducted by the Archive, which was begun in the mid-1930's and is today one of the world's foremost collections of international historic and classic films.

As the costs of film stock soar, and Federal funds shrink, the Museum must seek substantial support from the private sector to save its collection from chemical deterioration.

"The FIREFOX Benefit is an important opportunity to publicize the urgent need to preserve our film heritage," said Mary Lea Bandy, Director of MoMA's Film Department. "Films are deteriorating quickly, and even color films made just five years ago have begun to fade at an alarming rate. How poor film history will be for future students if film archives cannot successfully complete our most important task. Our investment, which today may seem time-consuming and costly, is a small one in the long run, and must be made."

The Department of Film is grateful to Clint Eastwood and to Warner Communications, Inc., for their support of our preservation efforts, and believes this premiere will help promote the cause to a wide public, as well as within the film and television industries.

FIREFOX will open its regular engagements, in New York and elsewhere, on June 18.

#

FIREFOX Benefit Committee

Benefit Chairman: Mrs. Deane F. Johnson

Honorary Co-Chairmen:
Mrs. Armand P. Bartos
Mr. William S. Paley
Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd
Mr. Steven J. Ross

Mr. & Mrs. Ted Ashley
Mrs. Lily Auchincloss
Mr. Bill Blass
Mr. & Mrs. David Brown
Mr. & Mrs. Frederick Brisson
Mrs. Gardner Cowles
Mr. Edward R. Downe

Mr. Peter Duchin Mrs. Mary Fisher Mrs. Charlotte Ford Miss Lillian Gish

Mr. & Mrs. John Gutfreund Mr. & Mrs. Sydney Gruson Mrs. Kitty Carlisle Hart Ms. Marife Hernandez Mrs. Henry J. Heinz II

Mr. George Roy Hill Mr. Frederick Koch Mr. Ralph Lauren

Mr. & Mrs. Leonard Lauder Mr. & Mrs. Ronald S. Lauder Mr. & Mrs. M. Joseph Lebworth

Mrs. David J. Mahoney Mr. Donald F. Marron Mrs. Alice F. Mason Mrs. Joseph Meehan

Mr. & Mrs. S.I. Newhouse, Jr. Mr. & Mrs. James G. Niven

Miss Mollie Parnis

Mrs. Patricia Patterson Mr. & Mrs. Gregory Peck

Mr. & Mrs. Martin Richards

Mr. Arnold Scaasi

Mrs. Denniston L. Slater

Mrs. Bertram Smith Mrs. Alfred R. Stern

Mrs. Fred Mustard Stewart

Mr. & Mrs. Roy V. Titus

Miss Pauline Trigère Mr. Jack Valenti

Mr. & Mrs. Ezra Zilkha

Mr. Richard E. Oldenburg Director The Museum of Modern Art

Mrs. Mary Lea Bandy Director The Department of Film