No. 12 FOR RELEASE: Monday, March 30, 1964 20

THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N.Y. Richard Griffith, Curator of The Museum of Modern Art Film Library and Chairman of the Selznick Golden Laurel Awards Program, announced today that the 14th series of awards to foreign films and film makers will be presented on May 27th at the United States Mission to the United Nations in New York City. It is expected that the presentations will be made by Adlai E. Stevenson, U. S. Ambassador to the United Nations. George Stevens, Jr., Director of the Motion Picture Division of the U. S. Information Agency, will preside. Governor Nelson Rockefeller and Mayor Robert F. Wagner will be invited to participate in the ceremonies, representing the host State and City.

Founded in 1949, the awards have hitherto been presented in Europe at the film festivals in Berlin, Venice and Edinburgh, and on occasion at U. S. embassies. Almost invariably, the presentations were made by the U. S. ambassador to the country in which the ceremonies were held.

The awards were founded and are donated annually by David O. Selznick, the important American film producer, to films and film makers for making/contributions to mutual understanding and good will among the peoples of the world while maintaining a high standard of cinematic artistry. Eligibility within an awards year requires only public presentation in New York. As American prizes to foreign films and film makers, Mr. Selznick specified at their inception that American films and their creators were to be excluded from consideration, as are films produced abroad by U. S. companies.

The winner of the Golden Laurel Award, as well as several Silver Laurel Medal winners, are selected from the eligible films by a committee of eminent American film critics. Additionally, a Golden Laurel Trophy is presented to a film maker whose total work through the years has been notable artistically and has also constituted a contribution to the purposes of the awards, and to a performer whose work has been similarly outstanding in both categories. A jury of distinguished Americans outside the film profession, members of which have included Dr. Ralph J. Bunche, Supreme Court Justice William O. Douglas, Gardner Cowles, Clare Booth Luce, Archibald MacLeish, Edward R. Murrow, and the late Eleanor Roosevelt, pick the Trophy winners from the committee's nominations.

Past winners of both Awards and Trophies have included films and film makers from France, England, Italy, USSR, Poland, Belgium, India, Japan, Mexico, Norway and many others.

Charlotte Gilbert will be Executive Director of this year's program and members of both committee and jury will be announced shortly.

Additional information available from Elizabeth Shaw, Director, Department of Public Information, The Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53 Street, New York 19, N.Y. CI.5-8900

* * * * * * *