No. 136

THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ARTFor Release:

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y. TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900 Thursday, January 5, 1961 or thereafter

Modern paintings and sculpture from the collection of James Thrall Soby, internationally known art scholar and author, will be shown at M. Knoedler and Company, 14 East 57th Street, from February 1 through 25 for the benefit of the Museum of Modern Art's Library. A gala preview will be held at Knoedler's on Tuesday evening, January 31.

Mrs. C. Sterling Bunnell is Chairman of the committee organizing the benefit, one of many events in the Museum's 30th Anniversary Drive. Mrs. Victor W. Ganz, Mrs. Ethan Allen Hitchcock, Mrs. Donald B. Straus and Mrs. Samuel C. Taylor are Vice-Chairmen of the committee.

An unusual aspect of the benefit exhibition is that the 70 works of art have been pledged, or in a few cases already given, to the Museum. Paintings by Picasso, Miro, de Chirico, Balthus, Bacon, and sculptures by Marini, Maillol, and Alexander Calder are among the works in the show.

Mr. Soby has designated the Museum Library as beneficiary of the exhibition because of the assistance and help he has found there in researching his books, which have included "After Picasso," "Salvador Dali," "Joan Miro," "Modern Art and the New Past," "Juan Gris," "Ben Shahn: His Graphic Art," "Giorgio de Chirico" and "Yves Tanguy."

A trustee of the Museum of Modern Art since 1942, Mr. Soby is Chairman of the Department of Painting and Sculpture Exhibitions and of the Committee on the Museum Collections. He lives in New Canaan, Conn.

*Committee members include: Mrs. Hulbert S. Aldrich, Mrs. Clark Andrews, Mrs.
Ernest Angell, Mrs. Douglas Auchineless, Mrs. Harding F. Bancroft, Mrs. Alvan L.
Barach, Mrs. George F. Berlinger, Mrs. Norbert A. Bogdan, Mrs. Milton Breslauer,
Mrs. Randi K. Bull, Mrs. H. S. Mackenzie Burns, Mrs. Frederic E. Camp, Mrs. Winslow
Carlton, Mrs. Albert H. Clayburgh, Miss Pamela T. Colin, Mrs. Meyer Davis, Countess
Bernard d'Escayrac, Mrs. Jane Nevin Dickson, Mrs. Wallis Bleecker Dunckel; Mrs.
Allan D. Emil, Mrs. James H. M. Ewart, Mrs. Sherman Ewing, Mrs. Lynn Farnol, Mrs.
William Ward Foshay, Mrs. Bruce Gimbel, Mrs. Robert D. Graff, Mrs. David Granger,
Mrs. Henry McCormick Gross, Mrs. August Heckscher, Mrs. Anthony Hoagland, Mrs.
Eleanor Israel, Mrs. Kenneth A. Ives, Mrs. Alfred Jaretzki, Jr., Mrs. Robert Edmonds
Kintner, Mrs. Adrian Lambert, Mrs. Edmundo Lassalle, Mrs. Richard P. Leach, Mrs.
V. Theodore Low, Mrs. Gordon W. Mallatratt, Mrs. Graham D. Mattison, Mrs. Gertrud A.
Mellon, Mrs. Richard Metz, Mrs. Matthew A. Meyer, Mrs. Minot K. Milliken, Mrs. Alex
Mitchell, Mrs. Edward S. Moore, Jr., Mrs. Patterson Morgan, New Canaan, Conn.; Mrs.

more...

Peters, Mrs. Lawrence S. Phillips, Mrs. Volney Righter, Bedford Hills, N. Y.; Mrs. J. Sterling Rockefeller, Greenwich, Comn.; Mrs. Frederick Sheffield, Mrs. Carleton Sprague Smith, Mrs. Louise R. Smith, Mrs. Malcolm Smith, Mrs. Robert McNeal Smith, Mrs. George W. Staempfli, Mrs. Charles Stillmah, Mrs. J. MacNaughton Thompson, Mrs. Harold D. Uris, Mrs. Edwin S. Webster, Jr., Mrs. Frances Whitney, Mrs. Frederick Charles Windisch, Greenwich, Conn., and Mrs. James E. Ziegler. (#New York City unless otherwise noted.)

Members of the Honorary Committee include: Mrs. A. Everett Austin, Jr., Henry Clifford, Charles C. Cunningham, S. Lane Faison, Jr., Robert Goldwater, Lloyd Goodrich, Henry-Russell Hitchcock, John McAndrew, Millard Meiss, Robert Owens Parks, Duncan Phillips, Perry T. Rathbone, Andrew C. Ritchie, Theodore Rousseau, Jr., Paul J. Sachs, Arthur L. Shipman, Jr., James Johnson Sweeney, Gordon B. Washburn.

For further information and photographs contact Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Director, Museum of Modern Art, 11 West 53rd Street, New York, N. Y. CI 5-8900,

-2-

414