THE MUSEUM OF MODERN ART

11 WEST 53 STREET, NEW YORK 19, N. Y. TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

No. 31

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Sunday, March 25, 1956 68

14TH ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE COMMITTEE ON ART EDUCATION

The 14th Annual Conference of the Committee on Art Education, a national organization of art educators sponsored by the Museum of Modern Art, will be held this year at The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, from March 28 through March 31. The theme of the conference, which is the first to be held outside New York City in line with a new policy established last year, is THE FUTURE OF ART EDUCATION. About 250 art educators from public and private primary, high schools and colleges are expected to attend.

Milton Eisenhower, President of The Pennsylvania State University, will welcome the members of the conference, who will hear talks by the following well-known educators: Melvin Tumin, Associate Professor in the Department of Economics and Sociology at Princeton University, whose subject is "Creative Education in a Nuclear Age"; Ben Euwema, Dean of the College of Liberal Arts at The Pennsylvania State University, who will speak on "Creativeness and Democracy"; and Viktor Lowehfeld Chairman of the Division of Art Education at Penn State, whose lecture on "The Future of Art Education" will be followed by a round table discussion with six members of the University faculty.

"New Research in Art Education" will be presented in five conference sessions when fifteen papers will be presented on subjects of recent research.

The Committee on Art Education was founded in 1942 and now has 1200 members. in this country and Canada. Victor D'Amico, Director of the Museum of Mødern Art's Department of Education, is Chairman of the Committee. Robert Iglehart of the University of Michigan is Assistant Chairman. Council members are:

Jane C. Bland, New York Charles Cook, New York Lamar Dodd, Georgia Carl E. Hiller, New York Nik Krevitsky, California Dorothy Leadbeater, New York Fred Logan, Wisconsin Viktor Lowenfeld, Pennsylvania

Edith L. Mitchell, Delaware Ruth Reeves, New York Hanna T. Rose, New York Olive L. Riley, New York Hale Woodruff, New York Arthur R. Young, New York Edwin Ziegfeld, New York

Council associatés are: John V. Allcott, North Carolina; Kenneth R. Beittel, ^{Pennsylvania}; Howard Conant, New York; Julia H. Duncan, Kentucky; Ruth E. Halvorsen, ^{Oregon}; Marion F. T. Johnson, Delaware; Rita Newton, Illinois; Eugenia C. Nowlin, ^{Washington}, D.C.; Alice Schoelkopf, California; Howard Thomas, Georgia.

Full programs available from Elizabeth Shaw, Publicity Director, Museum of Modern Art 11 West 53 Street, New York City. CI 5-8900.