5-5

## THE SOMUSEUM OF MODERN ART

TELEPHONE: CIRCLE 5-8900

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## MUSEUM OF MODERN ART PROPOSES INTERNATIONAL ARCHITECTURAL COMPETITION FOR HEADQUARTERS OF UNITED NATIONS ORGANIZATION

A resolution proposing that an international competition be held to select the architect for the United Nations Organization headquarters has been passed by the Board of Trustees of the Museum of Modern Art. Today the resolution was presented to Huntington Gilchrist, Secretary of the Interim Committee of the United Nations Organization, now in New York but returning to England tomorrow, Saturday, February 2. A copy of the resolution has been given Mr. Gilchrist for transmission to the Secretary of the United Nations Organization, Mr. Trygve Lie, in London.

The Trustees of the Museum of Modern Art earnestly urge the United Nations Organization to provide for an international competition, to be participated in by architects and planners of the United Nations, to prepare plans for the headquarters of the United Nations Organization. As a spur to the progress of architecture and planning, such a committee would be the most important influence of this generation for good planning throughout the world.

It is suggested that arrangements for such a competition should be made jointly by the most competent professional organizations in the United States. The Museum of Modern Art offers to the United Nations Organization its facilities toward planning such a competition.

The Trustees of the Museum of Modern Art are

Stephen C. Clark
Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, Jr.
Sam A. Lewisohn
John Hay Whitney
John E. Abbott
Mrs. David M. Levy
Alfred H. Barr, Jr.
Mrs. Robert Woods Bliss
William A. M. Burden
Mrs. W. Murray Crane
Walt Disney
Marshall Field
Philip L. Goodwin
A. Conger Goodyear
James W. Husted

Mrs. Simon Guggenheim
Wallace K. Harrison
Henry R. Luce
Ranald Macdonald
David H. McAlpin
Henry Allen Moe
William S. Paley
Mrs. E. B. Parkinson
Mrs. Charles S. Payson
Beardsley Ruml
James Thrall Soby
Nelson A. Rockefeller
Edward M. M. Warburg
Mrs. George Henry Warren
Monroe Wheeler